Skip to main content

Counseling Department

Counseling Department Overview

The professional practice of the AHS Counseling Department reflects Aptos High School's School Goals. Information for students and families is provided by classroom presentations, student conferences, evening events, and more. Aptos High School Counselors collaborate with students and families with focus and intention supporting student success and well-being. 

 

Aptos High School - School Goals

  • Goal 1: Increase the percentage of students who graduate college and career ready.
  • Goal 2: Provide students with Common Core State Standards aligned instruction and assessments.
  • Goal 3: Maintain a safe educational and social-emotional environment that fosters a caring community where students feel connected to and supported by peers and adults.

Aptos High School Counseling Program Basics

  • Develop courses of study based on student post-high school goals with an emphasis on college and career.
  • Monitor progress toward graduation and provide intervention meetings for students and families as needed.
  • Assistance and advocacy with college and career exploration, planning, applications and financial aid using Naviance.
Counseling Staff

SCHOOL COUNSELING STAFF

Ana Leonor, School Counselor (A - Fo)

ana_leonor@pvusd.net

Elva Martin, School Counselor (Fr - Mc)
elva_martin@pvusd.net

Maureen Brandi, School Counselor (Me - Pl)
maureen_brandi@pvusd.net

Lisa Kellert, School Counselor (Po - Z)
lisa_kellert@pvusd.net

 

COLLEGE & CAREER CENTER STAFF

Adi Bobadilla, College Facilitator

adilene_bobadilla@pvusd.net

Alberto Tovar, Parent Engagement
alberto_tovar@pvusd.net

Nicole Morasca, Scholarship
nicole_morasca@pvusd.net

Kristin Kenney-Fox, CTE/ROP
kristin_kenney@pvusd.net

STUDENT SUPPORT & LEADERSHIP

Maggie Gonzalez, Data Specialist
margarita_gonzalez@pvusd.net

Silvia Sanchez, Registrar
silvia_sanchez@pvusd.net

Julie Edwards, Assistant Principal
julie_edwards@pvusd.net

Benjamin Slyder, Assistant Principal
benjamin_slyder@pvusd.net

Directory