Skip to main content

Counseling Department

Overview

The professional practice of the AHS Counseling Department reflects Aptos High School's Goals. Information for students and families is provided by classroom presentations, student conferences, evening events, and more. Aptos High School Counselors collaborate with students and families with focus and intention to support student success and well-being. 

Aptos High School - School Goals

  • Goal 1: Increase the percentage of students who graduate college and career ready.
  • Goal 2: Provide students with Common Core State Standards-aligned instruction and assessments.
  • Goal 3: Maintain a safe educational and social-emotional environment that fosters a caring community where students feel connected to and supported by peers and adults.

AHS Counseling Department Vision Statement

Aptos High School students will achieve academic, career, and personal goals, to make positive contributions to the community and the global society. 

AHS Counseling Department Mission Statement

The school counseling program at Aptos High School empowers all students to achieve their highest potential, prepared to meet their college and career goals to make positive contributions to the community and the global society. The school counseling team delivers a comprehensive, data-driven program for all students to gain the knowledge, skills, and attitudes necessary for academic success, career exploration, and personal development. The school counseling department partners with other educators and stakeholders to advocate for equity, access, and success for all students. 

Aptos High School Counseling Program Basics

  • Develop courses of study based on student post-high school goals with an emphasis on college and career.
  • Monitor progress toward graduation and provide intervention meetings for students and families as needed.
  • Assistance and advocacy with college and career exploration, planning, applications and financial aid using Naviance. 
School Counselors
Maureen Brandi (831) 728-7832 ex: 5285 / maureen_brandi@pvusd.net School Counselor [Me-Pl]
Kristin Fox (831) 728-7832 ex: 5280 / kristin_fox@pvusd.net School Counselor [A-Fo]
Lisa Kellert (831) 728-7832 ex: 5144 / lisa_kellert@pvusd.net School Counselor [Po-Z] Department Chair
Elva Martin (831) 728-7832 ex: 5283 / elva_martin@pvusd.net School Counselor [Fr-Mc]
Christina Souza (831) 728-7832 ex: 5106 / christina_souza@pvusd.net Socio-Emotional Counselor
College & Career Center
Anahi Alcibar (831) 728-7832 ex: 5110 / anahi_alcibar@pvusd.net College Facilitator
Mario Castillo (831) 728-7832 ex: 5110 / mario_castillo@pvusd.net Lead College Facilitator
Sandi Maldonado (831) 728-7832 CTE Counselor
Nicole Morasca (831) 728-7832 ex: 0000 / nicole_morasca@pvusd.net Scholarships & College Pathways Counselor