Skip to main content
3/24/18 10:34 AM
3/24/18 10:34 AM
10/1/18 8:26 AM
3/24/18 10:34 AM
3/24/18 10:34 AM
10/1/18 8:28 AM

School Site Council

School Site Council Needs You!

Important information regarding School Site Council

Site Council Parent Rep Elections Process:  AHS Site Council Needs You!

We’re looking for one AHS parent to serve a two-year term as a member of the School Site Council which meets the first Monday of every month* from 5:00-6:30 pm in room I-204.


Site Council Member Responsibilities:**

  • Attend, and when necessary, vote at monthly meetings
  • Contribute to School Improvement Plan review and revision

Site Council Member Rewards:

  • Hands-on involvement in improving AHS
  • Representing parents in the influence of the evolution of School Goals and Action Steps
  • Networking with other parents and school staff

Timeline for 2018-2019 Site Council Elections:

  • By Wednesday, August 29th at 10:00am:  If interested, please submit a 200-word or less biography describing your qualifications.  Send biographies to Principal Peggy Pughe at Write “School Site Council Biography” in the subject line.  Please CC AHS office manager, Monica Nowlin at:   
  • Friday, August 31st:  Electronic Ballot (google form) that includes Candidate Biographies will be emailed to all families.
  • By Tuesday, September 4th:  Please vote for your Site Council rep using the Google Form ballot which will be sent on 8/31. You must submit your vote by 3:15 on 9/4.  
  • By Wednesday, September 5th:  Candidates will be notified by phone so they may attend the Monday, September 10th Site Council Meeting as a voting member.
  • Monday, September 10th--1st meeting of the 2018-2019 school year.  5:00-6:30 in I-204.
  • Monday, October 8th--mandatory training for new Site Council members.  6:00-8:00 at PVUSD School Board meeting room.

*Meeting days and times according to the AHS Website Calendar are subject to change according to the needs of the new School Site Council and in an effort to align with other Aptos/PVUSD schools and the AHS Boosters Club.  Meetings are almost always held on Mondays and the public is always welcome.


**More information about the roles and responsibilities of members can be found on the School Site Council portion of our website which is under the “Parent” pull down menu or by using this link: SchoolSiteCouncil


From AHS Site Council Bylaws: Article IV Section1.3 Eligibility of Membership:
“Parent members shall be selected by their own peer group. Parents shall have at least one pupil attending AHS during their entire two year term. A parent or guardian of a pupil representing parents may be employed at a school other than the one which his/her child or ward attends.”

2018-2019 AHS Site Council

Parent Members:  

Karen Dyck-President

Michelle Beckstrom 


Student Members: 

Muriel Clarke

Francesca Goyette

Katie Whitwam


Faculty & Staff Members:    Certificated:

Katie Kriscunas

Kate Sweeney Marquez

Jennie Martella- Secretary

Tom Whitwam -Vice President

Classified: Monica Nowlin

Principal: Peggy Pughe

Please contact any member
with concerns or questions.

Important Links