Skip to main content

AHS Counseling Department

Counselors are assigned by student's last name, all grades 9-12

A - Fo =  Mrs. Kristin Fox             Ext 5280         Kristin_fox@pvusd.net (Department Chair)

Fr - Mc = Ms. Elva Martin            Ext 5283         Elva_martin@pvusd.net

Substitute: Lorraine Sandoval   Ext 5283         Lorraine_sandoval@pvusd.net

Me - Pl = Mrs Maureen Brandi* Ext 5285        Maureen_brandi@pvusd.net

Po - Z =   Mrs. Kristen Barrett     Ext 5144        Kristen_barrett@pvusd.net

Benjamin Slyder                           Ext 5178        Benjamin_slyder@pvusd.net (Assistant Principal)

*Me-Pl counselor is part-time

 

Need help staying organized? Check out the link! You can make a copy and/or print to help you stay on top of your assignments throughout the week!

Cabrillo College Dual Enrollment for Fall/Spring 2021/22

Here is some helpful information regarding dual enrollment at Cabrillo College. Please see separate tab for the dual enrollment web page!

 

Cabrillo Handbook Link HERE

Cabrillo Dual Enrollment Orientation 

 

school counselors

Wellness Center

Socio-Emotional Counselor = Ms. Christina Souza          Ext 5106        christina_souza@pvusd.net

Quick link to Student/Family Resources here

College & Career Center

CTE Counselor = Ms. Sandi Solis-Maldonado    831-245-3511   sandi_solis@pvusd.net* 

Scholarship Counselor = Ms. Nicole Morasca  831-508-8733     nicole_morasca@pvusd.net*

Migrant Teacher = Mr. Oswaldo Contreras      831-406-1568     oswaldo_contreras@pvusd.net*

College Facilitator, Lead = Mr. Mario Castillo   831-461-4766     mario_castillo@pvusd.net 

College Facilitator = Ms. Anahi Alcibar              831-706-7581      anahi_alcibar@pvusd.net

*Part-time at AHS

appointments

Q: How do students and parents/guardians make an appointment with a student's counselor?
Students can fill out a yellow form in the main office to request an appointment, or they can drop in! Student can always email their counselor for a quick response. 

***If a parent would like to request a meeting please email your students counselor! 

Department Overview

The professional practice of the AHS Counseling Department reflects Aptos High School's Goals. Information for students and families is provided by classroom presentations, student conferences, evening events, and more. Aptos High School Counselors collaborate with students and families with focus and intention to support student success and well-being. 

Aptos High School - School Goals

  • Goal 1: Increase the percentage of students who graduate college and career ready.
  • Goal 2: Provide students with Common Core State Standards-aligned instruction and assessments.
  • Goal 3: Maintain a safe educational and social-emotional environment that fosters a caring community where students feel connected to and supported by peers and adults.

AHS Counseling Department Vision Statement

Aptos High School students will achieve academic, career, and personal goals, to make positive contributions to the community and the global society. 

AHS Counseling Department Mission Statement

The school counseling program at Aptos High School empowers all students to achieve their highest potential, prepared to meet their college and career goals to make positive contributions to the community and the global society. The school counseling team delivers a comprehensive, data-driven program for all students to gain the knowledge, skills, and attitudes necessary for academic success, career exploration, and personal development. The school counseling department partners with other educators and stakeholders to advocate for equity, access, and success for all students. 

Aptos High School Counseling Program Basics

  • Develop courses of study based on student post-high school goals with an emphasis on college and career.
  • Monitor progress toward graduation and provide intervention meetings for students and families as needed.
  • Assistance and advocacy with college and career exploration, planning, applications and financial aid using Naviance.